• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

Opinions on Tattoos, Piercings and all the Stuff my Mom Doesn't Like

Do you have a tattoo and/or piercing?

• Total voters
I am very much pro body mods. I have seventeen tattoos (eighteenth booked) and have been pierced over twenty times. I have stretched earlobes and dermals implanted in my skin.

I feel the professional world is gradually coming to terms with the notion that tattoos are only skin deep. Until recently I worked as a scientist and when not in the lab my desk was in the same office as the management team. I would go to conferences in a suit, with fifteen visible piercings (three of those facial: nostril, lip, and septum) and one of my tattoos peeking out my jacket sleeve, and no one said anything to me about it. My other half teaches and is heavily tattooed and to the best of my knowledge hasn't had any problems either.

i really like piercings and tattoos! i don’t have any myself because i am a Big Baby and can’t handle the slightest bit of pain but i really want to get my nose pierced in the future - i got it pierced a few years ago but it wasn’t a proper one nor did i have any idea about aftercare so when the stud fell out of my nose while i was sleeping, i just let it be and let the hole close up lmaoo

i’m not super sure about tattoos, though - i do want to get my cat’s name tattoo’d on me and maybe the initials of other people who mean a lot to me but i think a piercing might be my priority and is currently what i’m most interested in getting aha ^~^