• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

I hate NL villager dialogue.

neptoons

wut
Bells
Blue Bunny Balloon
Hi,
I recently started playing NL again after resetting my town 3 years ago and basically coming back once every 6 months, so I hadn't played the game fully for a while. Anyway, one thing I notice every time I talk to my villagers is the consistent asking for favors such as bringing them a fruit/bug/fish, delivering something to another villager, finding a piece of furniture for their room etc. However, it's not just rarely this happens, it seems to be EVERY single time I talk to one of them it's to ask for a favor or to change their greeting/catchphrase.
It seems funny/quirky villager dialogue in this game is pretty much nonexistant, I can't actually remember the last conversation I had with a villager that was funny or interesting, it's all just about favors or X character is in town so you must visit them etc etc. It's so mundane and playing other entries in the series, notably CF and WW make it seem even worse. I love CF dialogue so much, especially peppy and snooty villagers who really have distinct personalities, but in new leaf I can't find the difference between a normal, jock, snooty, peppy villager because they're all the same by ASKING FOR FAVORS!
What do you think? I'm interested to hear if people agree, I know NH has a dialogue problem too but honestly though it was watered down, it wasn't half as bad as this.

I disagree, I get plenty of conversations where they don't ask me for stuff. They also rarely ask me for new nicknames or catchphrases unless they ping me first.