• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

HELP!!! I'm a noob who doesn't understand TBT bells at all

czok23

Bells
Switch
5202-8099-4617
Could someone please explain this to me? So TBT bells are currency on this site/forum, but are not your bells from animal crossing, and are not representative of real money. So what are they? What are they used for? And how do I acquire them?

It all just seems kind of pointless. I figured transactions would be made by (lets Im buying an item from another ACNL player through the forum) simply swapping friend codes and then having one player visit the other's village, conducting the transaction by hand?

I feel like I am just totally missing a big part of how things work here at TBT so if someone could help me out with this, you'd be my hero!

TBT is acquired by posting. You'll get a little bit (1-10, or something like that) every time you create a new thread or reply to someone else's thread. They're used for a number of things-- purchasing forum collectibles (the little squares in users' sidebars), purchasing in-game items, in-game bells, and even drawings/art down in the Museum board. They're much more convenient than dumping a hundred 99k bags in someone's town-- just tap the number of bells in a person's sidebar, then select how much you'd like to give them! It's quite simple. Plus, TBT bells are more useful/versatile than IGB (in game bells). Less and less people are needing IGB simply because they've come far enough in their towns that they don't really need IGB for anything anymore. Also, 1 TBT = 200k IGB.

Hope this helps!