• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

How long does burnout last?

khagskhap

Bells
Hello, right now I'm currently going through a burnout period in animal crossing. I started playing back in July 2020, and I played everyday up until October 2022. I have barely touched my switch for a month and a half, and I've tried restarting a few times but never had the desire to keep playing. It sucks because I love this game and a part of me wants to keep playing, but literally every time I try to restart my island I just have no energy or desire to keep going and I end up quitting. Am I done with this game for good, or do I just need a long break? I still love the game and I think it is the best game ever when I want to play, but I'm just on the verge of taking a long break. I'm thinking of maybe coming back in the spring, depending on if I still feel like playing, lol. I know I shouldn't force myself but sometimes I find myself doing that just because this game was literally the only thing I enjoyed doing and now I don't know what to do haha. I guess I need a break to find other things that I love doing just as much. Has anyone else gone through the same thing? When did you find yourself coming back to the game?

Last edited by a moderator:
Definently me! I started playing in 2020 for 6 month and took like 6month break. Then I started playing for NOV/Dec 2021 and then took another year break. I burn out really easily but i love this game :) its suppose to be slow. so go ahead and take a break :) When you come back you'll find new things you want to do