• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

gyroids!

satine

is it better to speak or to die?
Bells
Wallopoid
Matryoshka Doll
Red Tulip
I know that not EVERYONE is as enthused about the possible return of gyroids in the upcoming update, but I am! When I started playing ACGC when I was about 6 years old, many moons ago, I was enamored with these things. My house was littered with them, I was obsessed with digging them up. I've loved them ever since then because they really give that nostalgic feeling in my heart and remind me of my childhood and playing the GC game with my brother on my bedroom floor. I was really frustrated that they weren't in NH because they seem like such a staple for the AC franchise -- not as a main focus, but just as a very unique quirk that defined the game at least somewhat for me.

I've been thinking a lot about them recently since it's possible that they might make a return. I really hope that they DO, like in general. I don't care how we acquire them. But I've been thinking about how they might go about them now that crafting is a feature.

Another thing I think is good to keep in mind is that the original lore of gyroids is that they are based on the Japanese "haniwa" figurines that would be buried with the dead back in the 5th-6th centuries AD. So, I feel like the fact that we're on a previously untouched "deserted" island (i.e., an island that would not possibly have such figurines previously buried such as was implied about gyroids in previous games) might change the way we acquire them -- or maybe Nintendo will just let us still dig them up anyway.