• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

Super Mario Sunshine vs Super Mario Odyssey

Alolan_Apples

“Assorted” Collector
Bells
Switch
1624-3778-0694
Green Balloon
Ghostly Kitty Plush
Hot Cocoa
Snowflake Glow Wand
Yellow Tulip
Disco Ball Easter Egg
Orange Candy
Chocolate Cake
Pumpkin Cupcake
Apple (Fruit)
Since it is summer again (and since I completed Super Mario Odyssey 100% last fall), I started playing Super Mario Sunshine again. I may not be very far in the game as of now, but I felt that this game is more enjoyable than Odyssey.

Today’s entry is about the differences between Super Mario Sunshine and Super Mario Odyssey. It also covers what was right about one game and what was wrong with the other.

Plot:

First of all, let’s talk about the story. Both Super Mario Sunshine and Super Mario Odyssey have better plots than the 3D Mario games, but guess what? The princess gets kidnapped, which is predictable. But here’s what’s interesting:

Super Mario Sunshine is not about the kidnapping itself, but rather something else. It portrays Bowser Jr, not Bowser, as the main antagonist of the game, as he disguises himself as Mario just to set him up, and he turned Isle Delfino into a polluted island, and Mario has been blamed for it. The game is more about someone getting accused of a crime and is forced to do community service even when he didn’t get involved to begin with, and less about the kidnapping.