Malicious Hacker?

Bells
i went on the island and there was this nice hacker giving out stuff his name was Joseph but i cant remember his town name. He had these hole items which were a leaf labeled ??? i picked it up and he said. the item will slowly corrupt my game and it didn't matter if i errored because it was already embedded into the code of my game, i'm scared I've worked really hard on my town was he just saying this to scare me or was he telling the truth?:(

Hmm, well I can't say for sure whether what he says is true or not so we'll just have to wait and see. But I will say that I have doubts that the item will able to corrupt your game slowly. I assume a company like nintendo would have measurements in place in the coding to ensure things like this don't happen. I feel like if it was going to corrupt your game, it probably would've done it there and then. I'm not an expert though, as i've never really had an experience with this kind of thing so i'm just going off personal opinion. In the future though, i wouldn't recommend taking items from people you don't know, especially if something seems off about it. For example if they're giving out tons of free crowns and bells that don't run out or something like that. (From what I remember you shouldn't be able to take anything you're holding to the island so that is suspicious in itself, but correct me if i'm wrong) Do you have a trash can or anything that you can put this item into? Either way, I hope this was of some help to you.

Last edited:
He's lying to you. As a former hacker, nothing you pick up becomes permanent unless you save. And even then, it's not possible to 'slowly' corrupt your game. Like Senshi said, if corruption was gonna happen, it would have done so there and then.