More questions regarding hybrids

AnimalCrossngAddict

Bells
I am new at hybrids and I have not been very successful. I have more hybrids from not even trying.

I do have the Beautiful ordinance.

I have tried planting using the checkerboard pattern and tried just putting 2 together. NO LUCK!!!
I planted some fertilizer. NO LUCK!!

I have also read every single website about hybrids.

I planted half of dozen orange roses together and NOTHING appeared. No red, no yellow, no nothing!!!!!!!
I planted these using the checkerboard pattern.

I also have a private beach with red and yellow roses. The roses have been there over a week. Not even one hybrid.

What am I doing wrong?

1. Do I water all the flowers in my town or just the ones I am trying to hybrid?

2. Should new flowers appear the next day after planting or do they appear several days later?

3. Do I water several times a day?

Thank you for taking the time to reply --- I really appreciate it!!!!!!

Last edited:
It would help if you only watered the ones you want to breed. The checkboard pattern never worked well for me, I always just put my flower directly next to each other and it works. I read an article on how they programmed New Leaf differently so putting them next to each other works better, I don't know how accurate that article is, but it sure has helped me.

It's pretty random, I've gotten hybrids the day after of planting the flowers. I also don't think watering them more than once a day helps at all. Some people claim you can get more hybrids if you don't have a beautiful ordinance, but I'm not sure how true that is.

Last edited: