• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

iPad & Apple Pencil for Art

Holla

🌸
Bells
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Golden Watering Can
Hello there. I'm a novice aspiring artist who would like to get more into digital art as a hobby. I've done traditional art for as long as I can remember but have never really bothered much with digital art. I'd like to change that by possibly looking into getting an iPad and Apple pencil.

I'm not new to Apple products considering I've been a user of iOS since like iOS 3 and I have a 7 year old Macbook. iPads however are new to me. I know for a fact I won't be getting a Pro as that's way to fancy and expensive. I also find the Air a little fancier and expensive than I need. So I believe it's between the iPad Mini or regular iPad. Anyone have either of these? Any generation is fine but please let me know which one(s) you've used and what you think about them.

I know the biggest difference in the latest models of these two are the following:
  • Screen size (mini is 8.3" regular is 10.2")
  • Processor chip (latest chip in mini while 2 year old one in regular) - honestly don't think this matters much considering my phone has a 3 year old one and I have no issues with it.
  • Apple Pencil support (Mini supports latest 2nd gen pencil, regular is 1st gen only)
  • Price (in my country the Mini is $220 more than the regular model)
I have small hands so I don't think the smaller size of the Mini would be a big deal but let me know if you think it really is a game changing difference.