VERY, VERY Japanese!!!

pika62221

Bells
I should first point out that I have every doubutsu no mori and Animal Crossing game. I have also studied Japanese for about 3 years. When you study a language, you're almost always guaranteed to study the culture along with it (you could take a class or self-study and just learn sentence structure, words, etc, but I take these in an actual class, so they've always included culture as part of the curriculum). Anyway, as I studied Japanese, and learned about their culture, MAN ALIVE is Animal Crossing loaded with it! ESPECIALLY true of doubutsu no mori, even today.

For instance, I just fulfilled a house request for Yayoi (Coco). It was "Kofun de kurasu" or to "live in the Kofun era". Now, there's something interesting to those who know about Japanese culture. During the Kofun era clay sculptures called haniwa were buried with the elite. Haniwa was localized to gyroid. Yes, yes, when you dig one up, you're a grave robber. It seems that Nintendo of America changed the sculpture's name and reference to the Kofun era, and digging up graves! Yayoi was going nuts when I gave her haniwa after haniwa after haniwa. It's like yeah, because she IS a haniwa!

That was just one example. Another is when you decline a request in Japanese HHD, you bow. You stilll say "mata kondo" which is the correctly translated in localization of "maybe next time", but instead of the frown face, you actually bow! Another little thing is when Takumi starts off the day. It's "A Ohayo! Kyoumo Ichi-nichi ganbarimashoune!" which is along the lines of "Oh, Good morning! Let's do our best all day today!" Did you catch that? It's a tad bit different than Lottie's "Good morning, *name*! Get out there and do your best today!" In Eastern culture, there is this sense of collectivism, you're part of the group, so Takumi says "let's do OUR best" versus Lottie's "do YOUR best".