• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

Tips for beginner artists

Autumn247

Bells
Switch
5508-2335-7117
Sweet Bunny Balloon
Gastly Halloweaster Egg
Red Christmas Stocking
Black Hybrid Rose
Black Famous Mushroom
Cocotryoshka
June Birthstone (Pearl)
Tasty Cake
Matryoshka Doll
Mint
So I am returning to drawing, I was always a tiny, microscopic bit above average with my art, so I got into advanced placement art when I was in high school and I took an art class in college at one point that I did well in. Other than that though I feel like I'm still a beginner. I'm not good, I want to be good though, and eventually really good. I'm also very out of practic because I just started drawing after a long hiatus. I would do it sporadically but now I'm going to start really committing time to it.

If anyone can offer some practical tips for getting good at art, specifically anime type characters, that's what I want to draw mostly. I want to do fan art and someday create my own original characters.

Also tips for what brands and whatnot for pencils, etc

Thank you! :)

If you're one of the beginner artists, I would recommend checking out this thread here.

It has all the sources needed for artists including figure references, tips, tutorials, and more. As for the tip, My advice is that you should practice and experiment on art especially trying out which style fits best for you. There were artists willing to give you feedback and advice to help you improve your skills. Sure, some advice can sometimes be hard to swallow but it'll help you on your journey to art. Especially in finding room for improvements.