• Happy Earth Week! TBT is hosting a series of nature-based mini-events through April 28th. Breed flower hybrids by organizing your collectible lineup, enter our nature photography contest, purchase historically dated scenery collectibles, and earn bells around the site! Read more in the Earth Week and photography contest threads.

Smash Bros Which Smash Bros Version Should I Buy (Wii U or 3DS)?

Holla

🌸
Bells
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Red Rose
Golden Watering Can
Hey guys! ^.^ So I'm completely new to the Smash Bros series (besides the unlimited uses 3DS demo), and I'm wondering which version of Smash to get, should I decide to buy it. The demo is fun, but I'm not 100% sure it's the game for me, but who knows it might be! :)

So right now I have the regular (old?) 3DS XL and a Wii U. Personally I play my 3DS more but the Wii U is fun too. I already own 5 Smash Amiibos (Peach, Yoshi, Diddy Kong, Pikachu, and Rosalina. I may also buy Mario and Luigi eventually.) So I'll obviously have to get the Amiibo adaptor for my 3DS whenever that comes out.

My biggest issue is this though: Wii U games are so much more expensive than 3DS games so is it really worth it to buy the more expensive (arguably better) version of the game when I may not even like the game? What do you guys think?

Edit: This is a minor detail but I already have a Club Nintendo Code for the 3DS version registered on my account that someone gave me, so I would only have to buy the Wii U version to get the Mewtwo DLC if I'm correct.

Last edited:
It really depends what you prefer, both versions have their pros and cons.