Please help! Amiibo update broke my game

SpooksvilleMona

Bells
Hello everyone! I'm new to this site but did look over the rules and other forums before deciding to make a new thread, so please let me know if this belongs somewhere else. Anyways, I'm in a serious pickle! Let me start from the beginning. Please forgive if this is long.

I bought a used copy of New Leaf at the beginning of this year and have been seriously loving it; however, I knew nothing about this iteration of AC before I started playing, so I didn't know the Amiibo update was a thing. I only found out about it recently, and today I tried installing it. This is where the issue comes in. As I mentioned before, my copy of New Leaf was used before it came into my possession. There were no visible save files on it when I opened it for the first time, so I assumed I wouldn't need to wipe it before creating my own town. After installing the update, however, it looks like there was a save file on the cartridge, after all. I couldn't access it before now because the previous owner must have had the update installed, and now I'm really concerned that it has wiped out my town forever! I've spent hours googling issues people have had with the update, but it seems like no one else has posted about my particular issue. I have tried uninstalling the update, but whenever I try to open New Leaf it tells me I need to update it again. Any help would be greatly appreciated! I just want to save the town that I've put so much work into, even if it means I can't play with the update.

Well the 3ds will only let you update the game once (or maybe I am wrong) so I would say the best thing to do is try and delete everything again and restart! Since I know you have to do it through the game there are ways to do it outside the game. Since you said the game isnt working try the following steps in System Settings! (This is taken directly from the Nintendo Website)
1657060743366.png