• The closing ceremony for TBT's Farewell to New Leaf event has been posted! View the winning entries and other closing announcements here. Thanks for joining in on the fun and nostalgia. We'll see you this Friday night for the start of our annual Easter Egg Hunt!

Something you wish your peers would understand about you?

xSuperMario64x

Canadian at heart 💜🇨🇦
Peach 🍑
Coconut 🥥
Bells
MEOW Coupons
StreetPass Silver
Switch
8558-0128-9692
Island
He/him
Green Bunny Balloon
Cyan Bunny Balloon
Snow Bunny
Fresh Feather
Cool Feather
I was just thinking about how my peers never seem to care to listen to me play piano.
And no, I'm not an amateur or anything, I'm not just someone who bangs around on a piano and thinks I'm playing. I'm a freshman in college, doing a major in piano performance. I've played for churches, dinners, and parties, and I always get compliments from the adults on how well I play, etc.
But yesterday I was playing piano while some of my peers (actually people I've known since I was about 10) were setting up a Christmas tree. Of course, they didn't care about my playing, they decided to turn on Christmas music and tell me to stop playing.
I feel like my peers don't care about my playing piano, and it actually hurts my feelings, because piano is one of the things I do best and boosts my self-esteem. When I get the sense that people don't care about it, it makes me feel bad. But this always seems to be the case, that's why I tend to dodge opportunities to play for people.
Tbh things like this are probably why I absolutely hate talking to my peers, why I'm so antisocial.

Anyone else have a similar situation?

Probably my dad (and probably the society lmao) not giving a **** that I have Asperger and that I can't function like everyone else -_-