Comparing yourself with other artists.

Money Hunter

MONEY MONEY MONEY MONEY
Bells
Eggs
Old Eggs
Orange Mote of Flame
Taken from this thread on a different forum and posted with permission from the person who posted it since I really wanted to share this with you guys:

Aeri said:
Kelissa said:
That awkward moment when someone's doodles are better than your finished art ;-;
ts not awkward at all, just humbling. i used to be a beginner who looked up to someone with my current skill set. theres nothing wrong with admiration.
art itself isnt a competition (except when it literally is an art contest. then it is up to the contest judge and their specific taste and perception of skill and aesthetic.) and its unfair to judge every artist's skills and who's 'better' or 'worse', like its black and white. we're all shades of grey and we all have different experiences, tastes, skills, and creative impulses and ways to express ourselves and of course no one's art is going to look alike. experienced artists are just developed and honed beginners, there is no reason to get down on yourself for starting the long journey to 'being a good artist', which is not a very flattering term to use. skilled, experienced, honed, or unique artist is a better way to go. (imo talent is a lie and does nothing as a compliment for a lot of 'good' artists actually. talent doesnt exist. its all countless hundreds of hours of hard work and dedication.)

constantly comparing yourself is an unhealthy habit every artist at one point has, its never helpful and always self-destructive. once you can learn to stop comparing yourself to everyone you meet, youll be able to be happier drawing the best that you can for the present.